Accelerating the Journey to Health!

Getting Un-Biased Vision, a View of Ireland, and the Scorecard

Contents in this Issue

  • Psycho-Paths: Live Better with Un-Biased Vision

  • Viewpoint: Glendalough Cathedral, Ireland

  • Waypoints: Candidate Indictments

  • TrailMix: Good Bread

  • Sharing is Caring!

  • Email Me soon!

Psycho-Paths: Live Better with Un-Biased Vision

Photo by linhdinh on pixabay.com

The eye doctor was blunt. After testing my vision he turned to my fiancé and said, “Has he been driving without glasses?” The tone of his voice reflected his shock that I could see the road with my poor vision. Since that day decades ago I have seldom even walked to the next room without my spectacles, let alone drive down the road. I had to admit my vision was distorted, creating a danger for myself and others.

The previous issue of TRACKS EXPRESS looked at the subject of Bias. I gave a fictional account of the disciples of Jesus who were on the boat when Jesus walked on the water. Each of them had biased ideas that prevented them from seeing the situation as it really was. Let’s go further in understanding Bias and how we can gain a more “un-biased” viewpoint.

A bias is an inaccurate perception based on cultural viewpoints or personal experiences that often operates beneath our conscious thoughts. I have biased thoughts because I have experienced life as a white, male, middle-class, straight, American, Christian… the list is long. Those experiences have given me a lens to look at the world. Just as the imperfections of the eye distort that world in front of us, so our biases distort the way we perceive the world.

One type of bias is an Implicit Stereotype. My Dad served in World War 2 and my parents were patriotic, so it would be natural for me to have pride when the “Star-Spangled Banner” is played. But this influence could also turn negative if Dad had developed hatred of the Japanese who killed his buddies and filled my childhood mind with anti-Asian bigotry. I might continue this into my adult years by holding a Confirmation Bias, meaning that I would interpret any encounters with Asians according to my pre-existing beliefs. A story about Chinese criminal gangs operating would be remembered, while a conversation with a caring Japanese nurse would be disregarded. These two biased viewpoints would have lowered my quality of life in many ways. I should find a way to un-bias my life for improved well-being.

It's important to note that bias is ethically neutral. Bias is just simply a part of how we live as humans. Scientists list more than 180 varieties of these mental filters. Some help us manage the flow of information in our brain or retain memories that help us survive. For example, some who read this article are being influenced by an Authority Bias, giving greater weight to the ideas of an authority, unrelated to the facts. I appreciate you paying attention to my degrees and professional licensing, so this bias influences you to read what I’ve written!

Now I want to take advantage of your Authority Bias by suggesting ways to un-bias your mindset.

First, stop the biases that aren’t working for your best and benefit those around you. A common bias that produces negative outcomes is the Overconfidence Bias, where my confidence in my judgment is greater than the real accuracy of my judgment. Lane always felt he could figure out which horse would win the race and placed his bet accordingly. He was a real student of the racing world and loved the excitement of the race. He was also in credit card debt up to his ears because of his huge betting losses. Lane must confront his Overconfidence Bias and hubris about his acumen in knowing horse races. The same bias can sabotage a person who feels he knows better than anyone else about people, science, or building a better mousetrap.

Second, embrace the ideas that come from others. A common bias is the Not Invented Here Bias. This simply means that if your group didn’t have the thought, it must be wrong. The only wisdom is from my tribe or identity group. This is on display when politicians declare that books must be wrong if they are written by an LBGTIA person, or if they tell the story of slavery, or discuss climate change caused by fossil fuels. The Not Invented Here Bias rejects out-of-hand these ideas since they have ideas that emerge from so-called left-wing groups. There is no attempt to understand a new viewpoint or evaluate the evidence presented. This Bias is a tragic narrowing of vision that will impoverish life.

Finally, be proactive in examining your biases. As a young religion student, my mentors taught that only my brand of Christianity was correct and all others defective to some degree. But when I moved beyond my home community, I discovered there were many faith traditions that had benefited humanity. Some had even practiced a more loving way of life or grasped truths my leaders missed entirely. It was time to examine my Bandwagon Bias. That bias focuses on how easy it is to adopt a concept if others have already done so. If everybody is doing it, I should jump on the bandwagon and do it too. This is the power of the influencer in today’s advertising. But your mother probably gave some good advice when she said, “Just because everyone is doing it, doesn’t make it right.” The Bandwagon Bias may march us to the beat of a messed-up drummer and bring bad outcomes.

About my vision, you’ll be glad to know that I wear my glasses every waking minute now. My doctor keeps track annually of how my vision is changing. That keeps me and my loved ones safe. I think all of us should keep track of our biases as well. We need to un-bias our mental filters to see the world more accurately. We would have greater well-being and relationships by avoiding the bandwagons, listening to the ideas of others, and having some humility about our own capabilities.

CITED

Waypoints: Candidate Scorecard of Indictments

A “federal indictment” describes a legal action by a grand jury of 23 people to declare there is sufficient evidence to warrant a crime. The grand jury may hear testimony, see evidence, and hear the charges brought by the prosecutor. Donald Trump has been indicted on 99 charges by four grand juries.

Trail Mix from JanMaree’s Kitchen: Good Bread

My Aunt Cleo Ratliff from rural Oklahoma passed on a recipe that is versatile and full of flavor. I have prepared it in many ways, including monkey bread, garlic twists, and cloverleaf dinner rolls. My younger daughter as a child named it “Good Bread.” It offers a light, yeasty bread all will enjoy. —JanMaree

INGREDIENTS

¾ c. shortening (or ½ c. plus 3 T. oil)                       1 c. hot milk

          (or ¼ c. shortening and 6 T. oil)                     2 eggs

2 t. salt                                                                  ¾ c. sugar

1 c. cold water                                                        2 pkgs. yeast

½ c. warm water                                                    7½ c. flour

 DIRECTIONS

Combine shortening and hot milk to melt shortening. Dissolve yeast in the ½ c. of warm water. In separate bowl, combine eggs, sugar, salt and beat in cold water. Combine shortening and milk mixture to the eggs and sugar mixture. Add half of the flour then the yeast water. Cover and chill overnight. Shape, rise and bake at 400 degrees until brown on top. They may be made in a single layer on a cookie sheet, or in a muffin tin to form a two-part or cloverleaf roll.

I usually mix the dough up to keep on hand in the freezer. If you do that, form into small balls, layer on a cookie sheet and flash freeze. When frozen, bag in a Ziploc.

Viewfinder: Glendalough Cathedral, Ireland

The Glendalough Cathedral, Monastery, and Cemetery have marked sacred ground in County Wicklow, Ireland for more than 1400 years. In a time of great upheaval, St. Kevin brought the witness of Christ to this area of Ireland. Through many centuries of change, invasions, turmoil, and faith the distinct Celtic ideal of the Christian faith has brought insight and hope. When Jan and I visited we were struck by the power of the Celtic Cross, bringing together Christ and the world in a dynamic energy. Though not a place of active worship now, it thrives with a witness of devotion as tall as the 100 foot Round Tower built 1000 years ago.

The Celtic Cross, Glendalough Cemetery, Ireland

Celtic theologian Dr. John Philip Newell writes, “In Celtic wisdom the sacred is as present on earth as it is in heaven, as immanent as it is transcendent, as human as it is divine, as physical as it is spiritual. The sacred can be breathed in, tasted, touched, heard, and seen as much in the body of the earth and the body of another living being as in the body of religion. It is the true essence of all life.” His powerful book, Sacred Earth, Sacred Soul is a renewal of ancient faith and modern life that Jan and I have enjoyed.

The Round Tower of Glendalough Monastery, Ireland

Sharing is Caring

Would you forward this TRACKS EXPRESS to a couple of friends? I’d like for more people to enhance their well-being with the articles, links, and resources. Just hit the Forward command on your email, offer a personal recommendation that they read this issue and subscribe on my website, and hit Send! Thank you!

Here’s the link to subscribe:

LET’S TALK!

I welcome your questions, comments, ideas, and affirmations. Join the TRACKERS Facebook community or email me directly at: [email protected]